Offseason Changes: Yokohama BayStars

» 13 February 2009 » In npb »

Coming: Dan Johnson, Les Walrond, Ryan Glynn, Tom Mastny, Toshihiro Noguchi, Kosuke Kato

Going: Ryoji Aikawa, JJ Furmaniak, Matt White, Dave Williams, Larry Bigbie, Mike Wood, Travis Hughes, Takuro Ishii, Takahiro Saeki (retirement)

Staying: Daisuke Miura

Trending: unknown

Synopsis: Held on to their most valuable free agent in Miura, swapped out an ineffective group of foreigners for a mostly unproven group. On paper, the additions of Glynn, Johnson and Mastny look good. Noguchi is somewhat of a step down from Aikawa. Overall, it doesn’t look like the ‘Stars made any acquisitions that will get them out of the cellar in ’09.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackback URL

  1. Patrick
    13/02/2009 at 6:00 pm Permalink

    Saeki didn’t retire. He re-signed to a lower contract. Takanori Suzuki retired as well as Takeo Kawamura. They both became coaches for the Baystars’ minor league team: Shonan Searex.

  2. Patrick
    13/02/2009 at 10:18 pm Permalink

    Ahh, my bad. I got Saeki and Suzuki mixed up. Those two guys, along with Ishii, were Mr. BayStars for so long that it’s easy for me to get them confused.